About Dee…

by madefromthestars

Who are we?  Here’s the first of our posts about us – starting with Dee..!


Dee Andrews by Jaymie O’Callaghan

Hi!  I’m Dee, and I’m an illustrator who focuses mainly on fashion.  I have a degree in Fashion Illustration from LCF and I previously studied Fine Art.  In my illustrations I use pencil and watercolour to create fluid, spontaneous drawings.  I’m just starting out as a freelance illustrator and am trying to build up some clients, and do some interesting projects.

I have worked at Disney, Upper 5th, Elizabeth Lau, have illustrated for Amelia’s Magazine, Lira Leirner, Fashion Foie Gras, Sarahs Scribbles and Bunnipunch.

Here are some interesting facts about me:  I have a pet rabbit called Luna who sits with me while I draw, I learned flute up to Grade 5 (Although I can’t remember any of it now), I’ve been to Graceland (uh huh, huh), the first ever gig I went to was Rammstein, I work at Paperchase part-time and I absolutely love being at work, I collect socks (really), and I have ‘Mischief Managed’ tattooed on my wrists.

Some interview questions so you can get to know me better:

Favourite:

Artist(s)? My favourite illustrator/artist is David Downton.  His illustrations are the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen.

Films?  Favourite films.. Harry Potter of course.  I also love ‘Into the Wild’ and Guy Ritchie films.

Music/ bands? Muse, Muse, Muse and.. Muse.  I love them.  I listen to all music though, so Ludovico Einaudi is my second favourite 🙂

Books? Harry Potter!!

Place? Seattle.  It was an amazing place to be – I met so many amazing people, and heard so much incredible music!

Season?  Autumn – I love getting jumpers and boots out again.  (I’m also an October baby)

Food? Pasta.  Every time.

What inspires you?  Everything!  Other illustrators, seasons, fashion, music, food.  There’s no end to it!

When you’re not drawing or working what else do you love to do?  I love to travel, and to go driving.  I love my car – she’s called Cherry.

What’s the piece of work you are most proud of?  My shoes that are on the front page of my website.  I get so much good feedback from them.

